Monday, 16 June 2014

What is the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan?

Simply put, vegetarians don’t eat meat or fish, but do eat dairy. Vegans don’t eat meat or fish, but they also don’t eat dairy. Vegans don’t eat eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt or anything that is a bi-product of an animal. Some strict vegans don’t eat any traces if milk or dairy in other foods either. For example, a well-known vegetarian brand ‘Quorn’ is not suitable for vegans as it has traces of dairy in it.

When it comes to eating out in a restaurant, it often means that vegans have to ring ahead to see if the chef can make something without dairy in it. Alternatively vegans can ask to see the ingredients list for the meals offered. It isn’t as difficult for vegetarians, as there is a legal requirement for all dining establishments to provide at least one meat-free option. There isn’t yet this luxury for vegans, but perhaps soon there will be.

Being a vegan isn’t as difficult as you might think, as there are so many alternatives to meat that don’t include dairy, and most of these are readily available in all supermarkets. It’s widely considered to be a much healthier choice, even more so than simply being a vegetarian.

There are also a multitude of reasons that vegans choose to go down this route, but the lesser known reasons aren’t widely discussed. If you’re interested in finding out more, search the internet where you will find some shocking videos of animal cruelty, and all in the name of dairy.

Ps. Don’t make the cardinal sin of confusing a pescetarian with a vegetarian! Pescetarians eat fish, but no other meat. Vegetarians don’t eat either!

No comments:

Post a Comment